London Philharmonic Orcherstra: Beethoven & Brahms

Congress Theatre
London Philharmonic Orcherstra: Beethoven & Brahms


R Schumann Overture, Genoveva (9’)

Beethoven Violin Concerto (42’)

Brahms Symphony No. 4 (40’)


Adam Hickox, Conductor

Hyeyoon Park, Violin

True romance: for the composers of the Romantic era, music was about gazing into the human soul and transforming raw passion into timeless beauty. And music doesn’t get much more beautiful than Beethoven’s radiant Violin Concerto: a sunlit, soaring masterpiece in which the soloist almost seems to take flight. There’s certainly nothing earthbound about our soloist – the award-winning Korean violinist Hyeyoon Park has been described as ‘a marvel’. Her performance is the big, warm heart of a concert that opens with Schumann’s swashbuckling overture and ends with Brahms’s last symphony – tragedy, tenderness and defiance, told straight from the heart.

Artists – Review Quotes

‘And there was fine conducting, at once witty and tender, from Adam Hickox.’

The Guardian

‘... Musicianship of the highest order ...’

The York Press on Hyeyoon Park