London Philharmonic Orcherstra: Beethoven's Seventh

Congress Theatre
London Philharmonic Orcherstra: Beethoven's Seventh


Sibelius Finlandia (8’)

Dvořák Cello Concerto (40’)

Beethoven Symphony No. 7 (36’)


Vinay Parameswaran, Conductor

Sterling Elliott, Cello*

*Alexandra Jupin Award recipient. An annual award for an artist making their debut with the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Beethoven set out to make the whole world drunk with joy, and from first note to last, his Seventh Symphony simply blazes with pure, irrepressible life-force. It’s a torrent, a celebration, a cosmic dance. Sounds like we’re overselling it? Just wait until you hear the Seventh played live by the full London Philharmonic Orchestra under our dynamic guest conductor Vinay Parameswaran. But then, everything about this concert is off-the-scale: from Sibelius’s stirring hymn to freedom, to the unchained melody of Dvořák’s glorious Cello Concerto – an ideal showcase for the inspirational young American cellist Sterling Elliott.

Artists – Review Quotes

‘The key hallmarks of his playing were the singing quality and the nostalgia he brought to this score.’ 

Cincinnati Business Courier on Sterling Elliott's performance of Dvořák’s Cello Concerto

‘Parameswaran’s gentle, nuanced and detailed interpretation was extraordinary.’

– Music City Review

‘Parameswaran led a performance that was remarkable both for its polish and power.’

The Nashville Scene