London Philharmonic Orchestra: Tchaikovsky's Fourth

Congress Theatre
London Philharmonic Orchestra: Tchaikovsky's Fourth


Mendelssohn Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4


Alessandro Crudele conductor

Chloë Hanslip violin

Great music is like a journey, and when we raise anchor for Mendelssohn’s Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, there’s no doubt that this will be an eventful one! With a shattering fanfare, Tchaikovsky lets fly with a symphony in which he poured out his soul: a no-holds-barred autobiography, told in music of raw emotion and dazzling colour. It’s a gripping showcase for our dynamic guest conductor Alessandro Crudele. First, though, he joins Chloë Hanslip – one of Britain’s best-loved violinists – for more Mendelssohn: the sweet (and gloriously songful) Violin Concerto.

Pre-concert event


Join us for a special free performance in the foyer, given by young musicians from Create Music, the music education hub for Brighton and East Sussex.

Artists – Review Quotes

‘Alessandro Crudele inspires a joyful freshness, with a sober and flowing gesture.’ – Corriere della Sera

‘Hanslip’s poetic touch kept every note she played alive and fresh.’ – The Times on Hanslip’s 2016 BBC Proms performance

You might also like