London Philharmonic Orchestra

Congress Theatre
Matthew Coorey conductor standing against black and red background

Beethoven Overture, Fidelio
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Beethoven Symphony No. 6 (Pastoral)

Matthew Coorey conductor
Joanna MacGregor piano

When Beethoven wanted to relax, he headed for the countryside, and there’s still no happier, fresher or more gloriously tuneful celebration of nature’s wonders than his lovely ‘Pastoral’ Symphony. But there’s more to it than just folk-dances and birdsong: this is music to soothe the soul.

The Fidelio Overture, meanwhile, stirs the blood – and Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto shows this most universal of all composers at his most tender and profound.

The great British pianist Joanna MacGregor finds something new in everything she plays; together with conductor Matthew Coorey, she’ll get straight to the heart of this very special Beethoven celebration.

You might also like