London Philharmonic Orchestra: Landscapes and Fairytales

Congress Theatre
London Philharmonic Orchestra: Landscapes and Fairytales

Smetana Vltava
Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherazade

Kerem Hasan conductor
Leia Zhu violin

‘An ecstasy, to music turned…’: it’s easy to hear why Vaughan Williams’s The Lark Ascending has become one of the nation’s favourite classics, and with the incredible young violinist Leia Zhu as our soloist today, it’ll soar more exquisitely than ever.

But this is a concert in which every note tells a story. A river flows from mountain springs to the city of Prague, in Smetana’s much-loved musical travelogue. And in the wonderland of the Arabian Nights, the beautiful Scheherazade spins tales of adventure, magic and (of course) love. Under the young British conductor Kerem Hasan, it’s never sounded more alive.

CLICK HERE to see a digital copy of the show programme 

Conductor Kareem Hassan

Conductor Kareem Hassan

You might also like